| Citibank phish [message #373714] |
Fr, 17 März 2006 19:53 |
|
Larf ?! I nearly pissed myself.....
"Dear CitiBank valued member,
We are looking forward to your assistance and understanding and inform
you about new CitiBusiness® department system updrade performed by
security management team in order to protect our clients from
increased online fraud activity, unauthorized account access, illegal
funds withdrawal and also to simplify some processes.
The new updated technologies guaranty convenience and safety of
CitiBusiness® account usage. New services for your account will be
effective immediately after an account confirmation process by a
special system activation application.
To take an advantages of current updrade you should login your account
by using CitiBusiness® Online application. For the purpose please
follow the reference:
https://citibusinessonline.da-us.citibank.com/cbusol/signon. do
Please note that changes in security system will be effective
immediately after relogin.
Current message is created by our automatic dispatch system and could
not be replyed. For the purpose of assistance, please use the "User
Guide" reference of an original CitiBusiness® website.
Thank you for using our services,
CitiBusiness® Security Management Team."
|
|
|
| Re: Citibank phish [message #373716 ] |
Fr, 17 März 2006 22:19 |
|
> Larf ?! I nearly pissed myself.....
> "Dear CitiBank valued member,
> https://citibusinessonline.da-us.citibank.com/cbusol/signon. do
Did you report it to the hosts of the site ? (you don`t mention the
redirect)
--
--- Please add "newsgroup" in the subject of any personal replies ---
--- My anti-spam address has "ngspamtrap" & [at] btinternet.com in it ---
|
|
|
| Re: Citibank phish [message #373720 ] |
Fr, 17 März 2006 23:36 |
|
"Colin Wilson" <void [at] btinternet.com> wrote in message
news:MPG.1e853841aa03acfb98992d [at] news.individual.net...
>> Larf ?! I nearly pissed myself.....
>> "Dear CitiBank valued member,
>> https://citibusinessonline.da-us.citibank.com/cbusol/signon. do
>
> Did you report it to the hosts of the site ? (you don`t mention the
> redirect)
I reported one once.
I didn't get a thank you (or any sort of reply at all).
I shan't be doing it again. Manners cost nothing.
tim
|
|
|
| Re: Citibank phish [message #373723 ] |
Sa, 18 März 2006 00:49 |
|
Daytona wrote:
> Larf ?! I nearly pissed myself.....
Why?? It's not a new fancy scheme at all, is it? Untill, of course, you _indeed_ are the "Dear CitiBank valued member" and this email has originated from Citi.
> To take an advantages of current updrade you should login your account
> by using CitiBusiness® Online application. For the purpose please
> follow the reference:
>
> https://citibusinessonline.da-us.citibank.com/cbusol/signon. do
.... which resolves to 192.193.183.46 and belongs to Citicorp Global Information Network, 388 Greenwich, New York, NY, US. So, nothing phishy so far. What was the *real* URL in the message source?
I sometimes "update" personal data, but with the name and address of the person who has registered the bogus domain. I always wanted to be nearby the moment they see "my" personal details.
Joe
|
|
|
| Re: Citibank phish [message #373726 ] |
Sa, 18 März 2006 10:03 |
|
"Joe Random" <me [at] privacy.net> wrote in message
news:HJCdnRkx2rZp14bZRVny0A [at] pipex.net...
> Daytona wrote:
>> Larf ?! I nearly pissed myself.....
>
> Why??
I think that he was referring to the grammetical errors.
It is true that this is normal for 419 mails, but phishing mails are
normally much better. Some are believably good (assuming that
is, you believe that your bank might atually contact you at all
using this medium).
tim
> It's not a new fancy scheme at all, is it? Untill, of course, you _indeed_
> are the "Dear CitiBank valued member" and this email has originated from
> Citi.
>
>> To take an advantages of current updrade you should login your account
>> by using CitiBusiness® Online application. For the purpose please
>> follow the reference:
>>
>> https://citibusinessonline.da-us.citibank.com/cbusol/signon. do
>
> ... which resolves to 192.193.183.46 and belongs to Citicorp Global
> Information Network, 388 Greenwich, New York, NY, US. So, nothing phishy
> so far. What was the *real* URL in the message source?
>
> I sometimes "update" personal data, but with the name and address of the
> person who has registered the bogus domain. I always wanted to be nearby
> the moment they see "my" personal details.
>
> Joe
|
|
|
| Re: Citibank phish [message #373776 ] |
Mo, 20 März 2006 14:52 |
|
"tim \(in sweden\)" <tim_in_sweden2005 [at] yahoo.co.uk> wrote:
>
>"Colin Wilson" <void [at] btinternet.com> wrote in message
>news:MPG.1e853841aa03acfb98992d [at] news.individual.net...
>>> Larf ?! I nearly pissed myself.....
>>> "Dear CitiBank valued member,
>>> https://citibusinessonline.da-us.citibank.com/cbusol/signon. do
>>
>> Did you report it to the hosts of the site ? (you don`t mention the
>> redirect)
>
>I reported one once.
>
>I didn't get a thank you (or any sort of reply at all).
Same here, with Alliance & Leicester.
>I shan't be doing it again. Manners cost nothing.
Exactly my feelings <g>
Fuck 'em.
Daytona
|
|
|